Colorado Black Elected OfficialsEmerge Col­orado

There are Democ­rats (D), as well as Repub­li­cans ® serv­ing in elect­ed office in Col­orado. Welling­ton Webb, the for­mer may­or of Den­ver served for 12 years in the mayor’s office. Cur­rent may­or Michael Han­cock will fin­ish his third term as may­or in 2023. Col­orado Black Elect­ed Offi­cials rep­re­sent just a small frac­tion of the state’s lead­ers serv­ing in elect­ed office. 

Many African Amer­i­cans or Black peo­ple, have served, and con­tin­ue to serve in elect­ed office in the Cen­ten­ni­al State of Col­orado. We spent some time research­ing to see how far African Amer­i­cans have come in the quest to gain influ­ence in the state’s pol­i­tics. The list­ing of this infor­ma­tion on the Africa News Mat­ters web­site does not con­sti­tute the endorse­ment of any of these politi­cians. It is for infor­ma­tion­al pur­pos­es only.

This list of Col­orado Black Elect­ed Offi­cials is by no means complete.


Michael Han­cock — May­or, Den­ver


Leslie Herod
State Rep­re­sen­ta­tive – House Dis­trict 8

North­east Denver


Rhon­da Fields
State Sen­a­tor – Sen­ate Dis­trict 29

North Auro­ra, Unin­cor­po­rat­ed Ara­pa­hoe County


Jen­nifer Bacon
State Rep­re­sen­ta­tive – House Dis­trict 7

Far North­east Denver


Dominique Jack­son — Dis­trict 42

Col­orado State House


Shon­tel Lewis — Dis­trict B

RTD Board of Directors


Dr. Cheryl Wink — City Council



Dr. Mar­garet Wright — Vice President

Pueblo School Board


Janet Buck­n­er
State Sen­a­tor – Sen­ate Dis­trict 28


James Cole­man
State Sen­a­tor – Sen­ate Dis­trict 33

North­east Denver


Tony Exum Sr.
State Rep­re­sen­ta­tive – House Dis­trict 17

South­east Col­orado Springs


Iman Jodeh
State Rep­re­sen­ta­tive – House Dis­trict 41

South­west Auro­ra, Unin­cor­po­rat­ed Ara­pa­hoe County


Naque­t­ta Ricks
State Rep­re­sen­ta­tive – House Dis­trict 40

South­east Aurora


Jen­nifer Allen-Thomas — Ward 2

Com­merce City Council


Regi­na Eng­lish — Vice President

Har­ri­son School Board